8 AM - 5 PM

Our Hours Mon. - Thu. | Fri - 12 PM


Call Us For A Consultation

The Stages of Grief in a Divorce

Getting a divorce can be an emotionally trying time for anyone, regardless of how long they have been married. It’s important to let your feelings come and go and reflect on the good things that you have in your life that you are grateful for. Everyone deals with divorce differently, but there is always a feeling of loss. It doesn’t matter if you were the one that initiated the divorce or if your soon to be ex-spouse broke the news to you, there will be stages of grief to deal with. We want you to learn a little more about the divorce grieving process and what to expect from an emotional standpoint, which is why we’ve put together a list of the stages of grief in a divorce. If you are interested in hiring a professional divorce attorney or getting legal advice about your divorce proceedings, reach out to The Johnson Law Firm & Associates today.

Stage 1 – Denial

One of the first stages of grief in a divorce is the denial stage. It can almost seem surreal to hear the news that you are actually moving forward with a divorce. For some people, they see it coming from a mile away. Others are caught off guard when they receive the news. Regardless of your unique situation, there will be a time when you are unable to accept the loss of your relationship. Denial comes in a lot of different forms. It might be ignoring divorce letters or avoiding discussions about the divorce with family and friends. Make sure you are reaching out to the people that you love and not dwelling on the past to get through this stage of grief.

Stage 2 – Frustration

The next stage of grief begins after people are able to accept the fact that they really are getting a divorce. Frustration is a common feeling for people since they are oftentimes looking for someone or something to blame for the loss of their relationship. It’s important to control your anger during this stage so that you don’t make your divorce harder than it has to be. Keep a cool head and make sure you are dealing with your stress and frustration in healthy ways.

Stage 3 – Depression

After the initial feelings of denial and frustration subside, many people fall into the stage of grief that can be the most difficult to get through. Depression is a common symptom of divorce, and it can be a very challenging stage of grief. Therapy is a great way to manage depression, as is talking with family and friends about your feelings. This stage requires patience and positivity.

Stage 4 – Acceptance

After you have dealt with the previous stages of grief, the final stage is acceptance. This stage means that people have accepted reality and dealt with their initial emotions. Acceptance allows you to reflect on what went wrong and move forward with your life in a positive way.

We hope this article has given you some valuable insight into the stages of grief in a divorce. Reach out to The Johnson Law Firm & Associates today for legal help with your divorce.